Chocolate and Veganism: The Facts

March 25, 2019

 

“How do you cope without chocolate?” is definitely one of the questions you will undoubtedly get as a vegan, beaten only by the ever-popular “Where do you get your protein from?”

Yet the world is changing, and with the rise of veganism has come a rise in the number of manufacturers responding to the demand, who have started creating “milk” chocolate (and even ice cream!) using plant-based alternatives, such as almond milk. To kickstart the upcoming release of our new café menu, we’ve introduced vegan dark chocolate muffins, which are everything you could expect from a muffin: moist, delicious and uncompromising in flavour.

 

 

Hate to Ask, But What Counts as Vegan Chocolate?

 

Firstly, for something to be labelled ‘vegan’, there must be no trace of animal products in the ingredients. While chocolate itself comes from a plant - the cocoa tree to be precise, during the production process of most chocolate, milk, milk solids and milk fat are added. It is worth noting, however, that if there’s a “may contain milk” at the bottom of the ingredients list, the item is still regarded as vegan; such disclaimers are targeted towards allergy sufferers regarding possible cross-contamination simply due to the product being made on the same line as dairy products. 

 

 

Re-Train that Brain


As a general rule, the darker the chocolate, the more likely it is vegan. Yet the higher the percentage, the stronger and more bitter the chocolate will be. If you grew up eating commercial chocolate bars, it may take some time to acquire a taste for the bitter flavour of chocolate with a cocoa mass of 80% or higher - 80% being the territory often favoured by chocolate connoisseurs.

 

 

Chocolate for your health


Studies suggest that pure dark chocolate is a powerful source of flavonoids, which have antioxidant properties and can reduce heart disease risk. Therefore, in order to stay on chocolate’s good side, always look for a high percentage of cacao and as few additives as possible - factors that are indicative of quality chocolate.

 

 

New Menu Options Coming Soon at Malta Chocolate Factory!


We are excited to be releasing a new café menu over the coming weeks, which will include lactose free, gluten free and vegan options. We’re very proud of our new café treats, all handmade at our premises - and would love to share them with you! And because we believe that chocolate should bring pleasure, not pain, all the chocolate we source is fair trade.

To wash the treats down and to help warm you up, we offer a selection of warm beverages, including coffees and 12 different teas and infusions. So whether you’re lactose intolerant, vegan or just curious, come try our new vegan muffins and vast range of goodies at our outlet in Bugibba, just off the square!

 

Remember to follow us on Facebook!

 

Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Featured Posts

Malta Chocolate Factory... soon in a town near you!

July 30, 2018

1/6
Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Archive